MRPL-MSNIM conduct vigilance awareness competitions

October 28, 2021

Manel Srinivas Nayak Institute of Management (MSNIM), Bondel, in association with Mangalore Refineries and Petrochemicals Ltd (MRPL), hosted the MRPL-MSNIM Vigilance Awareness Competitions 2021 for students as a part of MRPL’s Vigilance Awareness Week. The theme for this year was ‘Independent India @75: Self-reliance with integrity’. The contests were held on an all-India basis through online mode during the month of October.

Vigilance Awareness Week is observed every year during the last week of October to raise public awareness about corruption and to encourage all stakeholders to collectively fight against it. It is driven by the Central Vigilance Commission.

Competitions were held in Essay (English, Kannada, and Hindi), Poster/E-Poster, Debate, Short Film and E-Quiz to create awareness and to curb corruption. There was an overwhelming response for the competitions from students of UG and PG colleges across India. Over 3000 participants took part in the quiz competition from 18 countries including India, Peru, Latvia, Albania, Azerbaijan, Algeria, USA, Uzbekistan, UAE, Philippines, Bangladesh, Kuwait, Malaysia, Sri Lanka, Cambodia, Qatar, Peru and Kuwait.

The award distribution ceremony was held on Thursday, October 28 at MSNIM campus at Bondel. The participants joined via Zoom online platform. The programme was witnessed by the staff of MRPL, faculty, staff and students of MSNIM, and the participants and winners of competitions of various colleges across India.

Rajeev Kushwaha, ITS, chief vigilance officer, MRPL inaugurated the programme by lighting the lamp. Manel Annappa Nayak, vice president, Women’s National Education Society (WNES) presided over the function. Jimmy (senior manager, vigilance, MRPL) administered the integrity pledge.

In his address, Rajeev Kushwaha stressed on the importance of being vigilant in daily life and urged the students to complain when they come across any cases of corruption to the Central Vigilance Commission. “The country must strive to bring about change by becoming self reliant with integrity. Change begins with small actions, such as having the courage to speak the truth. When we improve our attitude and behaviour, society too will change,” he said.

Dr Molly S Chaudhuri, director, MSNIM, welcomed the gathering. Lakshmeesha (General Manager, Vigilance, MRPL) rendered the vote of thanks. Reema Agnes Frank coordinated the programme. Nanditha Sunil compered the programme.


The ceremonial inauguration was followed by announcing the prize winners of various competitions which were held through online mode. In each category, 3 prizes constituting first, second, third prizes were awarded. For the Quiz participants, e-certificates were awarded giving their individual scoring.

English Essay:

First Prize: Vaishnavi, Shri Madhwa Vadiraja Institute of Technology & Management, Bantakal, Udupi

Second Prize: Dipika, National Institute of Fashion Technology, Bengaluru

Third Prize: Fathima, Government First Grade College, Punjalkatte

Hindi Essay:

First Prize: Fathima, Govt. First Grade College, Punjalakatte

Second Prize: Jenisha, Alvas College, Moodbidri

Third Prize: Asma Banu, Government First Grade College, Punjalkatte

Kannada Essay:

First Prize: Pruthvi Shetty, Dr. G. Shankar Women's First Grade College, Udupi

Second Prize: Shameer, Government First Grade College, Punjalkatte

Third Prize: Shobha, Dr. G. Shankar Women's First Grade College, Udupi

Poster Competition:

First Prize: Rohit, Global Academy of Technology, Bengaluru

Second Prize: Aisha Panda, Buxi Jagabandhu School, Odisha

Third Prize: Gowprami, Besant Women's College Mangaluru

Short Film Competition:

First Prize: Chinthan, Manel Srinivas Nayak Institute of Management, Mangaluru

Second Prize: Kavya, Besant Women's College, Mangaluru

Debate Competition:

First Prize: Niharika Balthilaya & Bhoomika J S, Shri Madhwa Vadiraja Institute of Technology and Management, Bantakal, Udupi

Second Prize: Krishna Prasad & Vaishnavi, Manipal Institute of Management, Manipal

Third Prize: Prathibha Sethi & Nitin Mundra, KS Hedge Medical Academy, Mangaluru

Third Prize: Sunag & Sujatha, Universal Group of Institutions, Bengaluru

Best Debator: Krishna Prasad, Manipal Institute of Management, Manipal