January 19, 2023

Prerana College Mangaluru and GFGC College Ajjarakadu Udupi emerged winners of the men's and women's category respectively in the two-day Manel Srinivas Nayak Memorial UG inter-collegiate Kabaddi tournament 2023 held for men and women at the Manel Srinivas Nayak Institute of Management (MSNIM) Bondel on Friday, January 20.

Walter Nandalike, managing director, Daijiworld Media Network Private Limited and Ramkumar Bekal, partner, Citadel, were the chief guests at the valedictory function.

Speaking on the occasion, Walter Nandalike said, "I congratulate the winners of this tournament, I wish that the players of this tournament will play pro-kabaddi or represent the country. Kabaddi is the most popular game, but for a few years it had diminished and now due to tournaments like pro-kabaddi, it has regained that popularity. The referees need to be appreciated as its one of the tough jobs."

Ramkumar Bekal congratulated the winners of the tournament and said the game demands coordination between mind and body.

Jeevandas Narayan, correspondent, MSNIM; Manel Annappa Nayak, president, Women’s National Education Society; Dr Molly S Chaudari, director, MSNIM and  Dr Reema Frank, coordinator, MSNIM were present.

Coordinator Dr Sharan Kumar Shetty welcomed the gathering, Suresh Shenoy proposed a vote of thanks and faculty member Nanditha compered the event.

Results: Men's Category

Winner: Prerana College, Mangaluru

Runner up: St Philomena College, Puttur

Third: Gokarnanatheshwara College

Fourth: NMC, Sullia

Best raider: George (Prerana College)

Best defender: Supreeth (Prerana College)

Best all-rounder: Nasir (St Philomena College)

Result: Women's Category

Winner: GFGC, Ajjarakadu, Udupi

Runner up: Dayanand Pai College, Car Street

Third: Canara Engineering College

Fourth: St Aloysius College

Best raider: Raksha S (GFGC, Ajjarakadu, Udupi)

Best defender: Arpitha (Dayanand Pai College, Car Street)

Best all-rounder:  Reethu Sudhakar Hegde (GFGC, Ajjarakadu)